The impressively high bridge here, built in 1839 with the sponsorship of John Lloyd Davies Esquire of Blaendyffryn, towers above the Teifi and looks down at a large disused mill with its weir and leat. The once extremely large Alltcafan Mill (the size being testament to the importance and scale of the wool industry around the Teifi) was completed in 1895, and was partially demolished in the 1980s due to its dilapidated condition.
Upstream the river forms an elegant meander, before rushing into the gorge downstream of the bridge. In the side of the gorge, the bed of the old railway line runs under Pont Allt-y-cafan and alongside the river before passing through a lengthy tunnel and emerging further down the valley. The path here is not sign-posted as a public right of way.
Pont Allt-y-cafan grid ref.: SN386394
Getting There: the bridge is around 1km (0.6 miles) north of Pentre-cwrt. Turn off the A486 in Pentre-cwrt and take the first right at the end of the village.
Parking: Lay-by on North side of the bridge.